Students excel at Regional Science Fairs

March 9, 2016

Five Northside high school students have qualified for the International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF), based on their performance in regional competition.   

Christopher Botello and David Zulli, from the Jay Science and Engineering Academy, and Haram Kim, Ruben Dicker and Shayan Sarrami, from Health Careers High School, will compete at ISEF in May in Phoenix. Botello and Zulli also earned invitations to the International Sustainable World Energy, Engineering, and Environment Olympiad in Houston in late April.

The Alamo Regional Academy of Science and Engineering (ARASE) sponsors two regional competitions for students in over 100 counties. NISD middle school and high school students earned numerous grand prizes at these recent events.

Regional Junior Academy of Science

The Regional Junior Academy of Science was held Jan. 30 at the Robert E. Lee STEM Academy. Students presented their experiments’ design and results to a panel of professional scientists and engineers who then question about their work.

At the middle school level, Rudder Middle School students earned two Grand Prizes. Connor Schoenfeld won Fifth Grand Prize in Environmental Science and Clarisse Cabagay won Second Grand Prize in Botany.

At the high school level, students earned six grand prizes including First Grand Prize by Nathanial Ledbetter Ferrill in Earth & Space.  Second Grand Prizes were awarded to Christopher Botello in Environmental and Harrison Licata in Engineering. Luke Weston earned a Fourth Grand Prize in Physics and Alex Doyle earned a Fifth Grand Prize in Engineering. All attend the Jay Science & Engineering Academy. Kylie Stamey from Health Careers HS earned a Fourth Grand Prize in Microbiology.

Additional results in the junior and senior divisions.

Regional Science Fair

The Regional Science Fair was held Feb. 27 – 28 at St. Mary’s University.

Six middle schools competed in the middle school division and five of nineteen Grand Prizes were awarded to Northside students. Second Grand Prizes went to Emma Maltos and Jianuo Zhong in Team competition, Rudder MS; Third Grand Prize to Bailey DeJesus in Behavioral & Social, Hobby MS; Fourth Grand Prize to Brett Lasater in Environmental, Hector Garcia MS; and Fifth Grand Prize to Gabriel Casanova in Physics, Rudder MS. 

Rudder Middle School also won the Charles McGibbon campus award for excellence in math, computer, and physics categories. Izumi Vasquez, Melissa Hall, Gabriel Casanova, Emma Maltos, and Jianuo Zhong, all from Rudder MS, and Annie Villarreal, Stinson MS; Brett Lasater, Hector Garcia MS; and Bailey DeJesus, Hobby MS, received Broadcom Masters special awards.

Three high schools competed in the high school division, earning nine Grand Prizes.

Two First Grand Prizes were awarded to Ruben Dicker and Shayan Sarrami in Team Competition, Health Careers HS and Jay Science Academy student Christopher Botello won First Grand Prize in Environmental.  

Second Grand Prizes were awarded to Haram Kim in Math & Computers, Health Careers HS and David Zulli in Biochemistry, Jay Science Academy. Midori Flores, Jay Science Academy, earned a Third Grand Prize in Microbiology.

Fourth Grand Prizes were awarded to Ruthvik Nunna in Botany, Brandeis HS; Kathleen Ran in Medicine & Health, Health Careers HS; and Luke Weston in Medicine & Health, Jay Science Academy.

Jay Science Academy won three of the six campus level awards for participation and excellence. Health Careers HS also won a campus level award for excellence in Scientific Review Protocol.

Sixteen middle school students qualified for the Texas Science and Engineering Fair.

Additional results in the junior and senior divisions.