Rawlinson MS student designs NEF 20th anniversary logo

May 26, 2014

The Northside Education Foundation will turn 20 this coming school year, and in preparation the organization partnered with the NISD Fine Arts Department and sponsor Security Service Federal Credit Union (SSFCU), to hold a student art contest for a 20th anniversary logo design.

The contest generated 220 entries. Twenty finalists were selected comprised of eight elementary, six middle school, and six high school logo designs. From those 20, a winning artist from each grade level was selected, plus a grand prize winner. The three grade level winners each received a $100 check from (SSFCU).

Three grade winners were (pictured from l-r) Karina Moya, Elrod ES; Cassandra Sanchez, Rayburn MS; and Victoria Flores, Taft HS.

After a count down by the crowd, the logo was unveiled and the grand prize winner was Caitlyn Ury, a seventh grader at Rawlinson Middle School.

The surprised 13-year-old fought back tears as she came forward to accept the $500 check from Isaac Rodriguez, Business Development specialist for SSFCU.

Pictured (from l-r) School Namesake and former Superintendent Ed Rawlinson, Caitlyn Ury, Rawlinson MS; Art Teacher Teri Yasger, and Vice Principal Ryan Richter.

“It is so gratifying to see these talented students being recognized for their efforts,” said Dr. Brian T. Woods, Superintendent. “This event epitomizes our year’s theme of ‘Northside Connected,’ bridging the 20-year history of NEF with our current students as they designed this anniversary logo.”

The 20 finalists are (for elementary) Cassandra Canavati, 5th grade, Locke Hill ES; Joshua Cortez, 5th grade, Oak Hills Terrace ES; Gabriella Garcia, 4th grade, Murnin ES; Karina Moya, 4th grade, Elrod ES; Anneth Puentes, 5th grade, May ES; Layla Rice, 4th grade, Elrod ES; Natalie Tan, 3rd grade, Locke Hill ES; and Jennifer Tharp, 5th grade, Galm ES.

Middle School finalists are Rebecca Byrd, 8th grade, Vale MS; Elexis Hernandez, 7th grade, Zachry MS; Briana Jimenez, 8th grade, Jones MS; Cassandra Sanchez, 8th grade, Rayburn MS; Caitlyn Ury, 7th grade, Rawlinson MS; and Lizandra Zapata, 7th grade, Jones MS.

High school finalists are Adrianne Caga, 12th grade, Marshall HS; Victoria Flores, 12th grade, Taft HS; Ryan Garza, 12th grade, Taft HS; Oscian Guerrero, 11th grade, Stevens HS; Mary Haynes, 9th grade, Clark HS; and Victoria Smith, 12th grade, Taft HS.

Pictures from the event can be viewed by clicking here