Three NISD teams headed to state quarterfinals

December 4, 2012

For the first time, three Northside ISD football teams have advanced to the state quarterfinals, being held this weekend at the Alamodome (see schedule and ticket information below).

To celebrate this historic achievement, the public is invited to attend a giant pep rally for Brandeis, Brennan and O’Connor high schools at 7 p.m. Thursday at Farris Stadium. Marching bands and cheerleaders from all three schools will perform, and Superintendent Brian Woods and the three team captains will speak.

“We had a total of eight NISD teams competing for four playoff spots the last two weeks of the season, so that gives you an idea of how much depth we have throughout the entire school district this year,” Athletics Director Stan Laing said. “We’re proud of our players and our coaches and are very thankful for the community support they’ve received all season.”

Winners of this weekend’s games will advance to the state semifinals, and the winners of those games will vie for the state championship. Each conference (4A, 5A, etc.) has two divisions, which will result in two state champions for each conference. Both O’Connor and Brandeis are 5A schools, but because they play in different divisions, they would not face each other if they both win out. Brennan is a 4A school.

All of NISD’s quarterfinal games will be played at the Alamodome. Pre-sale tickets are $5 for students and $10 for adults. All tickets at the gate are $11. All tickets are “general admission.” Here’s the game schedule and pre-sale ticket information:

Brennan vs. Cedar Park7:30 p.m. Friday, Dec. 7

Tickets will be on sale at Brennan High School Thursday and Friday from 11:35 a.m. - 12:25 p.m. and then again from 1:25 p.m. - 2:15 p.m.

O’Connor vs. Madison – noon, Saturday, Dec. 8

Tickets will be on sale at O’Connor High School Wednesday - Friday from 11:30 a.m. - 2 p.m. 

Steele vs. Brandeis – 4 p.m., Saturday, Dec. 8

Tickets will be on sale at Brandeis High School Wednesday - Friday from 11:30 a.m. - 2:15 p.