Grants & Recognitions : Educator of the Year


NISD is proud to recognize the outstanding work of our educators. Each year, campuses across the district have the opportunity to nominate an exemplary educator.

1. Trinity Prize for Excellence in Teaching
2. Educator of the Year – Elementary – (PK-5)
3. Educator of the Year – Middle School – (6-8)
4. Educator of the Year – High School – (9-12)

The Trinity Prize for Excellence in Teaching nominee is the educator with the highest score in the EOY category. This nominee will proceed to the regional competition for the Trinity Prize for Excellence in Teaching Award. The second and third highest scoring applicants, after Trinity Prize recipient, will be nominated for the Texas State Teacher of the Year award. Previous NISD award winners have also been honored with regional, state, and national recognitions.

Campus Committee:  Campuses should develop a nomination committee or establish a campus-wide peer voting process to select an Educator of the Year.   All campuses are highly encouraged to nominate an Educator of the Year.  When completing applications, use specific examples to illustrate how the nominee demonstrates exceptional dedication and commitment to the profession as an exemplary educator. Only campus administrators (i.e., Principal, Vice Principal or Academic Dean) may submit a nomination for their educator.