Middle School Testing

Middle School Students Will Participate In The Following Assessments Under STAAR:

Grade 6 Reading and Math

Grade 7 Reading, Math, and Writing

Grade 8 Reading, Math, Science, and Social Studies

Grade 7-8 (students enrolled in high school mathematics) Algebra I End-of-Course STAAR Test

Student Performance:

Once students have taken a STAAR assessment they will receive a score indicating their performance. Student performance will fall in to one of the three categories below.

  • Level III: Advanced Academic Performance
  • Level II: Satisfactory Academic Performance
  • Level I: Unsatisfactory Academic Performance

Time Limits:

TEA established a four (4) hour time limit (5 hours for English I and II) for both STAAR grades 3-8 assessments and STAAR EOC assessments. TEA notes that a four hour time limit should provide sufficient time for the majority of students to complete the test. The rationale for time limits aligns Texas testing practices with other timed state and national assessments, i.e. SAT, ACT and AP examinations. Extended time accommodations for students with unique learning needs will continue to be offered.

Impact on Grade Advancement:

The Student Success Initiative (SSI) requires that students in grades 5 and 8 pass the STAAR reading and math exam to be promoted to the next grade. Students will test in March.  Any student who needs to retest will be tested in May.  Summer testing will be provided in June with a 3rd opportunity to pass the STAAR 5th & 8th grade reading and math exam.

STAAR End-of-Course Accelerated Instruction Program and Summer Retest Opportunities:

Middle School students who have completed Algebra I high school course and failed the EOC exam are allowed to retest on STAAR EOC test they have already taken and may qualify for an Accelerated Instruction Summer Program.