Northside students achieve national recognition

Blue bubbly background with words Students earn national recognition
October 12, 2018

Northside ISD students continue to excel and receive numerous honors and awards. Below are students who have been named National Merit Semifinalists, Commended Scholars, and scholar finalists in the National Hispanic Recognition Program.

National Merit Semifinalists and Commended Scholars
The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. High school students enter the program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

About 90 percent of the semifinalists will attain finalist standing, and about half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.

National Merit semifinalists include: Matthew Su and Benjamin Walls, Brandeis HS; Julianne Del Alamo, Natalie Johnson, Megan Nunneley, and Timothy Reynolds, Clark HS; and Anne Gao, Brian Kang, Bradley Millwater, and Nikhita Pathapati, Health Careers HS.

National Merit Commended students include: Daniel Cao, Jieli Huang, Yousef Moshiri, Lindsey Myers, Jack Si, and Dylan Watson, Brandeis HS; Ethan McCartan, Business Careers HS; Fatima Ali, Cameron Cummins, Domenic Ferreris, Isabella Garcia, Gabriella Gonzalez, Theodore Johnson, McKenna Mosely, and Clarissa Valenciano, Clark HS; Emily MacCormack, Jasmine Manansala, Henna Punjabi, and Julissa Vazquez, Communications Arts HS; Macy Drew, Miguel Fabrigas, Richard Feng, Sunhee Kim, Daria Locha, Kevin Nelson, and Elisabeth Wang, Health Careers HS; Kendrick Golden, Joslynn Provow, and Adam Spiegel, Jay Science & Engineering Academy; Ethan McAvoy and Devin Geelhoed, Marshall HS; Peyton Davis, Andy Deering, Elisabeth Lopez, Molly Mathis, Eric Qi, Jordan Tamayo, and Mathew Wilson, O’Connor HS; Joshua King, Taft HS; and Joshua Brown and Abigail Ketchum, Warren HS.

National Hispanic Scholar Finalists
The National Hispanic Recognition Program is a College Board program that provides national recognition of the exceptional academic achievements of Hispanic high school seniors and identifies academically well-prepared Hispanic high school seniors for postsecondary institutions.

National Hispanic Scholar Finalists include: Alessandro Acevedo, Trevor Aluwihare, Trevor Balderrama, Brennen Cwatanaphol, Ana De La Cruz, Ayla Freeberg-Rodriguez, Natalie Munoz, Jake Nelms, Caitlin Stahl, Migdalia Vazquez, and Jackson Wood, Brandeis HS; Alexandra Garcia, Brennan HS; Ethan McCartan, Business Careers HS; Trevor Beck, Ellis Blake Hidalgo, Alfonso Castaneda, Kate Cazares, Justin Clark, Julianne Del Alamo, Karla Desatnik, Domenic Ferreris, Nathan Galindo, Isabella Garcia, Catherine Gibson, Gabriella Gonzalez, Alana Hernandez, Merlin Jones, Marcielle Legarde, Matthew Mascorro, Victoria Parker, Andrea Quijano, Alexander Rodriguez, Athena Sanchez, Rafael Segovia, and Clarissa Valenciano, Clark HS; Rylie Torres and Julissa Vazquez, Communications Arts HS; Andrew Deleon, Construction Careers Academy; Jan Alfaro, Leila Almanza, Emmanuel Caliandro, Francisco Gutierrez, Sunhee Kim, Christopher Renfro, and Jeffrey Vanegas, Health Careers HS; Mariah Sanchez, Holmes HS; Noah Hoglund and Josiah Lozano, Marshall HS; Andrea Bennett, Katerina Clukey, Kayla Garza, Diana Hubbard, Peyton Hummel, Madeline Morales, Gabriela Pedraza De Leon, Ariana Tamez, and Sean Wright, O’Connor HS; and Daisy Brockhouse, Jessyka Flores, Tristan Pepper, Melissa Robles, and Danielle Valdes, Warren HS.