NISD announces District Educators of the Year

Graphic header of educator of the year winners
April 1, 2017

Three first-year and three veteran teachers were named District Educators of the Year at special celebrations held annually to honor teachers who give 100 percent when it comes to improving the lives of children. In addition, Northside’s nominee for the 2017 Trinity Prize for Excellence in Teaching was announced.

The 2017 Northside Educators of the Year are:

  • Traci Aliano, fifth grade teacher, Ott Elementary School
  • Carrie Moix, social studies teacher,  Folks Middle School
  • Sheryl Stoeck, librarian, O’Connor High School

The 2017 Northside First Year Educators of the Year are:

  • Peggy Shaskan, fifth grade teacher,  Lieck Elementary School
  • Kevin Slater, math teacher,  Stevenson Middle School
  • Robert Greer, Jr., Career & Technical teacher,  Brennan High School

And, the District’s nominee for the 2017 Trinity Prize for Excellence in Teaching Award is Suzanne Diou, a counselor at Kuentz Elementary School.

In addition to receiving engraved plaques, first-year awardees received checks for $250, and the veteran teachers and Trinity nominee received $500 checks.

A panel of NISD educators selected the District winners from among the 205 campus Educators of the Year.

All campus winners were deemed “Simply the Best” at the District’s Educator of the Year celebrations, held March 7 and 8 this year.

The celebration has been dubbed “Simply the Best,” because the campus winners parade into the auditorium to Tina Turner’s famous song by the same name.

Pictures from this year’s Educators of the Year events can be found on the Northside website under Announcements.