Players return after 50 years to be recognized in special ceremony

January 12, 2016

Members of the 1966 Marshall High School Boys Basketball State Championship team took center stage and were recognized during halftime on Saturday, Jan. 16 at the Marshall High School vs Clark High School. The public is invited to attend this special recognition. The game, to be held at Paul Taylor Field House, begins at 12:30 p.m.

“It may have happened 50 years ago, but we are as excited about it today as they were back then,” says Stan Laing, Executive Director of Athletics.

The 15-AAA basketball district in the mid 1960’s was divided into two zones. Marshall High School was in the North Zone, along with Holmes, South San Antonio, Kerrville, and Pleasanton. In 1966, the Marshall Rams went undefeated in the North Zone, then played a two out of three series with the South Zone winner, Del Rio, for the district championship.

They then went on to win both the Bi-District Championship and the Regional Championship games to advance to the 3A State Championship Tournament, held in the University of Texas Gregory Gymnasium.

It was Saturday, March 5, 1966 and the Marshall Rams were playing for the state championship against the Clear Creek Wildcats. The Rams were led by Coach Ted Dockery. 

*Marshall moved in front 11-4 in the first quarter, still had a 30-24 lead at the half, and then were stunned by a Wildcat third quarter that moved Clear Creek ahead 45-44.

Once Clear Creek edged into a 49-46 lead with 5 minutes and 31 seconds to play, Clear Creek went into a ball control game and it took six points by the hard hustling Jim Stockton – his only markers of the game – to put new life in the Rams, and finally into a 54-54 tie with 36 seconds remaining!

A Marshall floor error let Clear Creek have the ball for a final shot, but a jump shot was blocked by Wayne Doyal, and Dennis Leach ran out the time on the clock.

The Rams treated an overtime period just like it was the start of a new ball game.

“Get the lead and stay after them,” was Coach Dockery’s order when the game went into overtime.

The players took what their coach said to heart, and once in overtime play, the Rams took an early lead and kept it for the entire overtime.

They won the game with a final score of 64 to 60 to become the 1966 State AAA Basketball Champions.

Members of the 1966 State Championship Team include Marshall High School graduates: Fred Bryant, Tommy Cullinane (deceased), Wayne Doyle, Eddie Escamilla, Greg Hahn, Dean Krueger, Dennis Leach, Harold Leinweber, Terrell Lillard, Tom Lillard, Stanley Menn, Johnny Pedroza, Dennis Peterson, Carl Steinle, James Stockton, Head Coach Ted Dockery, and Asst. Coach Gary Haas.

*Excerpts in this story were taken from the March 6, 1966 issue of the San Antonio Express.