Trustees recognize NEIC, SBAC, and NLA members

September 22, 2015

At the Sept. 22 Board Meeting, several groups were recognized by Trustees.

Outgoing NEIC members recognized

The Board of Trustees recognized outgoing members of the Northside Educational Improvement Council (NEIC), which includes 19 parents, community members, and business representatives appointed by Board members. In addition, 19 professional staff members and one paraprofessional elected by their peers also serve on the Council. State legislation provided establishment of councils to “involve the professional staff of the District in establishing and reviewing the district's educational goals, objectives, and major district-wide classroom instructional programs." Members serve two-year staggered terms.

Laura Ramos, Parent Representative
Che White, Parent Representative
Latonya Gaither, Parent Representative
Daniel Walker, Community Representative
Nancy Medrano, Community Representative
Carol Deel, Community Representative
Mary Adams, Community Representative
Alex Villalpando, Community Representative
Esmond Pabilona, Business Representative
Richard Ramos, Business Representative
Lisa Ellison, Ed Cody Elementary School
Katy Stout, Myers Elementary School
Michelle Crittenden, Steubing Elementary School
Lisa Rollins, Ed Cody Elementary School
Kimberly-A Young, Folks Middle School
Maureen Connelly, Stinson Middle School
Monica Pohovich, Holmes High School
Rachel Gonzales, Brandeis High School
Anabelle Ornelas, Brandeis High School
James Pierce, Holmgreen Center
Laurel Malloy, Stevens High School
Mary Lederer, Scarborough Elementary School
Annette Castillo-Robinson, Ed Cody Elementary School

Outgoing SBAC member recognized

A member of the 2014-15 School Boundary Advisory Committee (SBAC) was formally recognized by the Board for his service and was presented with a certificate of recognition. The SBAC is responsible for reviewing all attendance boundary changes, holding public hearings, and presenting recommendations to the Board of Trustees. The committee is composed of two patrons from each middle school attendance area in NISD who are parents of elementary, middle, or high school-age students.

Don Elkins – representing Stevenson Middle School zone

2014-2015 Northside Leadership Academy (NLA) members recognized

Outgoing members of the 2014-15 Northside Leadership Academy (NLA) were presented with certificates of completion. The NLA class is a year-long program that identifies and trains potential administrators.

John Avila
Michael Alicea
Eryn Bell
Ruth Benitez
Linda Cavazos
Belinda Cisneros
Brent Draker
Lisa Ellison
Gloria Emiliano
Lisa Guzman
Theresa Heim
Lisa Hinojosa
Marian Johnson
Erin McKinney
Gabriela Menchaca
Wendi Peralta
Migdalia Powers
Louis Villarreal
Tawny Wagner