17 musicians receive Texas All-State honors

February 9, 2015

Seventeen NISD musicians were selected to the Texas Music Educators’ Association (TMEA) All-State Band, Choir, Orchestra, and Jazz bands. All-State is the highest individual honor that a music student can receive in public school music education.

More than 4,500 students audition in three rounds of assessment for selection to one of these prestigious ensembles. Students will rehearse and perform with international conductors during the TMEA Music Convention to be held in San Antonio Feb. 11-14.

The students are: Nnamdi Odita Honnah, Catherine Marfin, and Josh Payne, Brandeis HS, All-State Band; Liam Dixon, Brennan HS, All-State Jazz Band; Jeremiah Guillen and Fabio Morales, Brennan, All-State Band; Alex Flores, Anika Nieto, and Sara Pieper, Clark HS, All-State Choir; Albert Coleman, Clark HS, All-State Band; Kathleen Ran, Health Careers HS, All-State Orchestra; Gretchen Noble, Marshall HS, All-State Orchestra; Ricky DeHoyos, Gavin Magee, Lindsey Malchoff, and James Segura, O’Connor HS, All-State Choir; Dana Dominguez, Stevens HS, All-State Band.

Teachers are Richard Herrera, Brandeis HS; Roxanne Vickers, Brennan HS; James Hare and Teresa Nguyen, Clark HS; Jennifer Cahill Clark, Health Careers HS; John Thornton, Marshall HS; Jeff Thames, O’Connor HS; and Robert Rubio, Stevens HS.

Visit the TMEA website for concert information.