New UIL realignment puts all 10 high schools in district 27-6A

February 6, 2014

The latest University Interscholastic League reclassifications and realignments were announced earlier this week, and for the first time, all 10 Northside high schools will now compete in the same district, 27-6A.

UIL, the state oversight organization for public school sports, uses enrollment figures to realign districts every two years. Brennan High School, Northside’s newest high school, moves from 4A to 6A joining the other nine Northside schools in District 27-6A .The changes will take effect at the beginning of the 2014-2015 school year.

The UIL added a 6A classification but the change is name only. Six-man football for the smallest Texas schools was renamed Class A and as a result, all other classifications moved up a number.

 “A ten team district creates some unique challenges and opportunities for each of our sports,” said Stan Laing, Executive Director of Athletics. “We anticipated this change and collaborated with our Northside head coaches to weigh the pros and cons of ‘zone play’ within our new District 27-6A.”

For football, District 27-6A splits Northside high schools into the following two zones:

Zone A                                   Zone B

Brennan                                  Brandeis

Jay                                          Clark

Stevens                                  Holmes

Taft                                          Marshall

Warren                                   O’Connor

Teams will play in their respective zones in weeks 6- 10. In Week 11, the first place team in each zone will play each other for the District championship and both teams will advance to the state playoffs.

For girls/boys basketball and girls/boys soccer, District 27-6A splits into the following zones:

Zone A                                   Zone B

Brandeis                                Brennan

Clark                                       Holmes

Jay                                          Marshall

Taft                                          O’Connor

Warren                                   Stevens

Teams will play the teams in their zone twice and will play the teams in the opposite zone once for a total of 13 District games. The four teams with the best record will advance to the playoffs.

For more information, call the NISD Athletics Office at (210) 397-7509.