Kuentz ES fifth grade teacher wins 2013 Trinity Prize

May 1, 2013

Isabel Anaya, a 5th grade teacher at Kuentz Elementary School, was named a winner of the 2013 Trinity Prize for Excellence in Teaching.

She was chosen from 19 educators nominated by each area school district in recognition of outstanding performance in public education. All nominees were honored May 1 during a ceremony at Trinity University.

Charlotte Dolat, a fifth grade teacher from Alamo Heights ISD, also was named winner of the 2013 Trinity Prize.

Anaya has been teaching for 12 years and says, "As time goes on, I realize that being a teacher is about making an impact, an impression and a lifelong mark. What I say, what I do, and how I teach will stay with my students for a lifetime.”

To that end, she has words posted on the walls of her classroom to remind her students of their potential, including the words ‘determination’, ‘inspire’, and ‘persevere.’

Anaya spent the first 9 years of her career teaching at Villarreal Elementary School before moving to Kuentz Elementary School when it opened in 2009. In 2008, she won the state HEB Excellence in Education award in the Rising Star elementary category, for teachers with less than 10 years of experience.

Anaya believes that leadership also includes volunteering and she is especially passionate about making a difference in the environment. Last year, she spearheaded a recycling initiative that won her school $31,000 through the PepsiCo Dream Machine Recycle Rally.

The greater San Antonio area's oldest and most prestigious teaching award, the Trinity Prize was launched in 1982 to honor public school teachers who distinguish their teaching practice through outstanding classroom performance, leadership in the school and school district, leadership in the education profession, and outstanding community service.

Recipients of the Prize each received $2,500 and a crystal apple. Trinity sponsors the award along with the H-E-B Grocery Co. and the San Antonio Express-News. A panel of San Antonio business and community leaders selected the winners.