NISD announces Educators of the Year

March 21, 2013

Three first-year and three veteran teachers were named District Educators of the Year at special celebrations held annually to honor teachers who give 100 percent when it comes to improving the lives of children. In addition, Northside’s Nominee for the 2013 Trinity Prize for Excellence in Teaching was announced.

The 2013 Northside Educators of the Year are:

  • Debra Seaman, Thornton Elementary School
  • Christian DeBerry, Hobby Middle School
  • Ben Hernandez, Brandeis High School

The 2013 Northside First Year Educators of the Year are:

  • Joe Garay, Valley Hi Elementary School
  • Courtney Lemley, Briscoe Middle School
  • Sarah Goldsmith, Jay Science &Engineering Academy

And, the District’s nominee for the 2013 Trinity Prize for Excellence in Teaching Award is Isabel Anaya from Kuentz Elementary School.

In addition to receiving engraved plaques, first-year awardees received checks for $250, and the veteran teachers and Trinity nominee received $500 checks.

A panel of NISD educators selected the District winners from among the 197 campus Educators of the Year.

All campus winners were deemed “Simply the Best” at the District’s Educator of the Year celebrations, held March 19 and 20 this year.

The celebration has been dubbed “Simply the Best,” because the campus winners parade into the auditorium to Tina Turner’s famous song by the same name. Winners were given the red-carpet treatment by whirling spotlights, cheering family members, and co-workers hoisting signs and banners.

To purchase a DVD of the ceremony, go to and click on DVD Sales.