Board of Trustees name new facilities after NISD visionaries

February 29, 2012

The Board of Trustees Tuesday night voted unanimously to name the District's next middle school - set to open in August 2013 - after Superintendent John Folks. The Board also voted to name the District's fifth transportation station after former and longtime Transportation Director Mike McClung.

Folks, who has led Northside ISD for the past 10 years, will be retiring in June. His namesake school, previously referred to as "FM 471 North area" Middle School, will be located off Galm Road and will be among the first schools to open that is funded by School Bond 2010. 

In Northside ISD, middle schools are named after prominent Texas leaders or those who have made significant statewide contributions to education. 
Folks has spent 42 years in education and has served as the president of several statewide organizations including the Texas School Alliance and the Texas Association of School Administrators. In October, he was named the 2011 Texas Superintendent of the Year by the Texas Association of School Boards for his statewide leadership and his unwavering and vocal support of Texas public education. 
"Dr. Folks has put his heart and soul into making sure every child in Northside ISD receives a quality education, but he's also been a passionate advocate for all of Texas public education," said Karen Freeman, President of the Board of Trustees. 
McClung led NISD to become one of the first school districts in the nation to use propane-powered buses in the early 1980s, and he was instrumental in the implementation of the swing stop sign arms on NISD buses. NISD now has 850 school buses and operates one of the largest propane-powered fleets in Texas. 
NISD buses transport almost 60,000 of the District's 97,000 students daily to and from school. 
The McClung Transportation Station is located at FM 471 and Tally Road, and is located adjacent to the future "Kallison Ranch area" high school. The transportation project is funded by School Bond 2010.