High School Testing

Click here for Summer Testing & Instruction Information


What are STAAR end-of-course exams?

STAAR stands for State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness.  High School students must take and pass certain required courses and the end-of-course exams for those courses.  The assessments are based on the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills, the state curriculum standards.  The end-of-course exams are designed to ensure that students are learning the specific course material and are prepared to succeed in college and/or careers. 

What courses will require an EOC test?

Math English Science Social Studies
Algebra I English I Biology U.S. History
  English II    


Testing Timeline:

1st Testing Administration                             2nd Opportunity (June)                   3rd Opportunity (December)
          Spring                                                       Summer                                                Fall


Impact on Graduation:

Under current guidelines of House Bill 3 (HB 3), of the 82nd Texas Leglislature, the 9th grade class starting in 2011-2012, students will take up to 5 EOC assessments listed above based on their participation in courses. Each student must meet a Satisfactory Academic Performance  (Level II) on each EOC assessment they take in order to graduate.

Time Limits:

TEA established a four (4) hour time limit (5 hours for English I and II only) for both STAAR grades 3-8 assessments and STAAR EOC assessments. TEA notes that a four hour time limit should provide sufficient time for the majority of students to complete the test. The rationale for time limits aligns Texas testing practices with other timed state and national assessments, i.e. SAT, ACT and AP examinations. Extended time accommodations for students with unique learning needs will continue to be offered.

Student Performance:

Once students have taken a STAAR assessment they will receive a score indicating their performance. Students performance will fall in to one of the three categories below:
  • Level III: Advanced Academic Performance
  • Level II: Satisfactory Academic Performance
  • Level I: Unsatisfactory Academic Performance
 High school students may continue to take the exams until they meet the passing standards.

Accelerated Instruction High School:

Summer STAAR EOC Accelerated Instruction Program:

Students who score in Level I, Unsatisfactory Academic Performance, are encouraged to sign up for the Accelerated Instruction Program offered at each high school campus during the summer.  The chart at the bottom of this webpage shows the Level II Satisfactory Academic Performance score that is considered passing.  Anything below this number is considered unsatisfactory this year.  Contact your school to sign up for accelerated instruction.


Summer STAAR EOC Retest Opportunities:

Students who have already qualified to take an End-of-Course STAAR test may retest each summer if they did not meet the Level II Satisfactory Academic Performance level.  STAAR retests are being offered on each campus.  You can view the complete testing schedule for STAAR EOC and TAKS by clicking the Test Schedules link on the right side of the webpage.  Contact your school to sign up for June retest opportunities.


EOC Results:

  • If students take their first STAAR EOC assessment in 2012-2015, they will be held to the Phase-in I of Level II Satisfactory performance standards for every assessment (math, science, social studies or English).
  • If students take their first STAAR ECO assessment in 2016-2018, they will be held to the Phase-in II of Level II Satisfactory performance standards  for every assessment (math, science, social studies or English).
  • House Bill 5 changed the English I reading and writing tests and English II reading and writing tests into one test for each course.  Therefore, the state will provide some flexibility to the students in the 2015 and 2016 graduating classes to determine whether students taking these assessment have met their English I and English II graduation requirements.  The following is being proposed by Commissioner Michael Williams and would be applied to each course (not across courses) and would require students who took separate reading and writing assessments to meet three criteria:  pass one assessment (either reading or writing); meet at least the minimum score on the other; and achieve a combined scale score of 3750 (the phase-in 1 standard), which represents the sum of the scale scores needed to reach Level II for reading (1875) and Level II for writing (1875).  


Phase-in of EOC Performance Standards

Year of EOC Assessment




Level of Phase-in

Phase-in 1

Phase-in 2

Level of Standard

Level II Satisfactory

Level II Satisfactory

English I



English II



Algebra I






U.S. History