NISD students advance to state Academic Decathlon competition

May 20, 2011

Academic Decathlon is a program that provides high school students across the U.S. an opportunity to experience the challenges of rigorous academic competition through participation in team activities. In addition, the Academic Decathlon involves members of the business/industry as active supporters of a program promoting academic excellence. Students are tested in ten categories: Art, Economics, Essay, Music, Language and Literature, Speech, Interview, Mathematics, Science, and Super Quiz. Gold, Silver, and Bronze medals are awarded for individual and team scores. Winning teams advance through local, regional, and state levels of competition.

Four NISD schools advanced to the state-level competition. Those Northside teams advancing on to the state level were Stevens High School, who placed 32nd and 5th in the Super Quiz relay, O'Connor High School, who placed 10th in Super Quiz team and 11th overall in the state, Warren who placed 29th overall, and Holmes who placed 30th.

The honorees are:

Yun Liang O'Connor 1st Individual Social Studies, 3rd Individual Super Quiz,
3rd Individual Music, Honors Division
Jenny Qi O'Connor honors division
Zac Cozzi O'Connor  2nd Individual speech, honors division
Laura Dixon O'Connor  1st Individual essay, scholastic division
Krista Silvin O'Connor scholastic division
Joshua Castro Martinez O'Connor scholastic division
Corey Ford O'Connor varsity division
Gabe Campbell O'Connor varsity division
Pamela Hummel O'Connor Head coach
Aaron Westbrook O'Connor coach
Riley Egger Stevens honors division
Phillip Graham Stevens honors division
Jonathan Jordan Stevens honors division
Victor Encarnacion Stevens scholastic division
David Lopez Stevens scholastic division
Michael Phelps Stevens scholastic division
Kennedy Hatfield Stevens varsity division
layla Lustri Stevens varsity division
Ian Bernard Stevens varsity division
Ruben Pena Stevens Head coach
Mike Lyons Stevens coach
Matthew Tijerina Warren honors division
Shanasia Sylman Warren honors division
Ariel Penny Warren honors division
Paolo Solorzano Warren scholastic division
Gabriel Rogow Warren  3rd Individual in Super Quiz, scholastic division
Brett Beatty Warren scholastic division
Guillermo Barraza Warren varsity division
Nicholas Castillo Warren varsity division
Valerie Salinas Warren varsity division
Terry Zablocki Warren Head Coach
Jane Nicholson Warren coach- received the Coach of theYear Award for the State
Sandra Bayona Holmes honors division
Cesar Ramirez Holmes honors division
Gretchen Ledesma Holmes honors division
David Bayona Holmes scholastic division
Nicolas Prendiz Holmes scholastic division
Sarah Grubaugh Holmes scholastic division
Albert Yanelli Holmes varsity division
Christopher Capistran Holmes varsity division
Gabriella Hernandez Holmes varsity division
Diana Habenicht Holmes Head coach
Juliana Sanchez Holmes coach
Vilma Lang Holmes coach
Adriano Gonzalez Holmes coach