Warren’s World Scholars Cup Team advances to Malaysia

May 20, 2011

On Saturday, April 23, teams from throughout the state gathered at Pasadena High School in Houston for the World Scholars Cup Regional Meet. The event was emceed by former Houston Mayor Bill White.

The World Scholar's Cup is a team competition where young scholars compete in different intellectual fields, from writing to debate. There are regional meets worldwide in over 40 countries. The Warren HS Scholars team had an impressive performance, with each member winning an individual medal in economics. They also won three rounds of debate, as well as capturing the first place team trophy for writing. Warren's outstanding team performance qualified them for the World Finals in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Matthew Tijerina 3rd economics, 1st- 3 rounds of debate, 1st place team writing
Shanasia Sylman 5th economics, 1st- 3 rounds of debate, 1st place team writing
Ariel Penny 4th economics, 1st- 3 rounds of debate, 1st place team writing
Brett Beatty 2nd economics, 1st- 3 rounds of debate, 1st place team writing
Terry Zablocki Coach

Carson Chess Team members are State Scholastic Champs

The sixteen young men we are recognizing tonight are members of the James Carson Cowboy Knights chess team who traveled to Houston on February 11-13 to play in the Texas Scholastic Chess Championships.  1,347 chess players from across the state participated in 15 divisions ranging from pre-kindergarten through college.  Imran Aziz, a third grader, won all seven of his games in the primary under 700 (K-3) division to garner the individual state primary championship.  The Knights primary team earned 3rd place in their division.  In addition, the Knights elementary team finished in a tie for second place and they were awarded 3rd place based on a tie-breaker. 

Our honorees are:

Imran Aziz third grader, individual state primary champion
Nicolas Weissmiller third grader, primary team
Dominic Crute second grader, primary team
Michael Casas third grader, primary team
Nicolas Lopez third grader, primary team
Alexander Fine third grader, primary team
Evan Chenault fifth grader, elementary team
Luke Lopez fifth grader, elementary team
Nicolas Rodriguez fourth grader, elementary team
Alfonso Trevino fifth grader, elementary team
Jalen Starks fifth grader, elementary team
Suleman Aziz fifth grader, elementary team
Ryan Kostek fifth grader, elementary team
Marc Sorunke fourth grader, elementary team
Stephen Krueger fifth grader, elementary team
Justin Otake fifth grader, elementary team
Tom McDonald Coach
Denise McNallen Coach