Clubs & Organizations

Tom C. Clark HS

Clubs & Organizations

2014 - 2015

 

 

Academic Decathlon

Susan.Thompson@nisd.net

Academic Decathlon is a 10-event scholastic competition for teams of high school students. Each team consists of 9 students; 3 "A" or Honor students, 3 "B" of or Scholastic students, and 3 "C" or Varsity students.  This year's topic is World War I.

 

Asian Circle

Yvonne.Yzaguirre@nisd.net

Asian Circle is a social and community service oriented club open to all ethnic backgrounds.

We meet socially every other Tuesday for Asian food, games, and tutoring. Our biggest

community service project is Angel Tree at Christmas time. Meetings in A047 every first

Wednesday of the month.

 

Athletics

Steven.McGhee@nisd.net

Athletic Booster website clarkathleticbooster.com

 

Band

Kevin.Russell@nisd.net

Band Booster Website cougarband.org

 

Bowling

Janie.Cardenas@nisd.net

Do you like to bowl? Want to be part of a team? Beginners or Advanced-are welcome!! The

Clark Bowling team is a great way to make new friends and have a great time competing in a

sport that everyone loves! Season is October to April and practice and matches are scheduled

at Bandera Bowl on Bandera Rd. Contact Janie Cardenas in the Registrar’s office for details.

 

Brave New Voices

Kathleen.Henckel@nisd.net and Jose.Chavez@nisd.net

Brave New Voices is a creative writing club where students meet in A238 every 2nd Thursday & 4th Tuesday of every month after school from 4:15 to 5:00 to read their own original writing, song lyrics, poetry, prose, etc., read and listen to others' creative work, share refreshments, and meet new people with similar interests. They also help Mrs. Henckel and Mr. Chavez plan and execute the open mics that take place at local Barnes & Noble Booksellers.

 

Chess Club

David.Moreno@nisd.net and Marco.Valdez@nisd.net

The Chess Club is for both recreational and competitive chess. The club meets on Thursday’s for

fun play. We also compete in monthly competitions with other high schools for medals and

trophies. The club meets on Thursday mornings in room C118 at 8:15 am.

 

Choir

James.Hare@nisd.net and Megan.Eyden@nisd.net

Choir Booster Website clarkchoir.wordpress.com

The Vocal Music Department at Clark High School is made up of over 200 students enrolled in

7 performing ensembles. The choirs are the Tenor-Bass, Treble, Advanced Treble, Chorale

Men, Chorale Women, Concert Chorale and the Small Vocal Ensemble. Enrollment in the

Tenor-Bass and the Treble Choirs is open to all students. Admission to the advanced

ensembles is determined by audition. The Concert Season includes 4 major concerts, a "Pop

Show," a musical theater production, bi-annual out of state trips and opportunities to compete

for TMEA/UIL regional and state honors.

 

Clark Cubic Club

Jim.Dart@nisd.net

Students will be taught the seven-step process for solving the world famous Rubiks Cube.  This is a challenging and fun activity that is guaranteed to make you sharper and increase your self-confidence.  We meet every Thursday morning starting at 8:00am in Room C112.

 

Clark Student Ambassadors (CSA’s)

D’Layne.Kelly@nisd.net

This program is available for 10th-12th graders. The CSA works with a Connections teacher to mentor new freshmen. The CSA is in charge of facilitating the class by following the prescribed curriculum. After 9 weeks, the Connections program becomes tutoring for the rest of the year. CSAs will be paired with a teacher in the content area of their strength to tutor struggling freshmen. Connections classes meet Monday through Thursday for the first 20 minutes of lunch. CSAs will also help with Cougar Camp in August before school starts. To be a CSA, you must be passing all classes, have good attendance, and be a good role model.

 

CLART (Art Club)

William.Peavy@nisd.net

clart (the Clark art club) meets tri-weekly, after school in room A004. The philosophy of

clart (sic) is to extend and expand learning about the fine and cultural arts beyond the

classroom through direct involvement with the San Antonio arts community. Through clart,

students will engage, explore, experiment, and serve. Mark Peavy sponsors clart.

 

Class of 2015 Don.Rios@nisd.net and Kristin.Cartwright@nisd.net and Cynthia.Twedt@nisd.net

Class of 2016 Kimberly.Dill@nisd.net and Tara.Fisher@nisd.net

Class of 2017 Gil.Vicinaiz@nisd.net and Dariela.Delagado@nisd.net and Karen.Pumphrey@nisd.net

Class of 2018 Carrie.Foster@nisd.net

 

Cougarettes

Visit the Cougarette Webpage at nisd.net/clark

Cheer Sponsor: Sarita.Shanley@nisd.net

Top Cat Sponsor: Sarah.Visel@nisd.net

Aristocat Sponsor: Kimberly.Cook@nisd.net

Pep Squad Sponsor: Analisa.Campbell@nisd.net

 

Drama Club

Francisco.Licon@nisd.net

The Drama/Thespian Club is open to all students at Clark High. It is an organization that

promotes, and supports the growth of students interested in Theatre. We have a group of

officers that are elected by the members each year. During the school year, the club

organizes meetings (usually 1st Wed. of every month), and events for the membership. The

members are encouraged to participate in production duties, such as publicity, ushering, clean

up or strike, etc., for the Theatre productions.  Check call board for any updates!

 

Earth Club

Jill.McGowin@nisd.net and Deborah.Livingston@nisd.net

The purpose of Earth Club is to educate members about living green, eco-friendly lifestyles, and to build a community of environmentally aware people who work to make Clark HS a greener institution.  Anyone can join as long as he or she has an open mind and a willing heart to make Clark a more environmentally sound campus.  Members must also adopt green lifestyles so that they may educate others about the responsibility humans have for taking care of the environment.  Earth Club will organize numerous projects such as fund-raisers to fulfill club goals, campus maintenance and community clean-up.

 

FHF (Friends Having Fun)

Karen.Pumphrey@nisd.net

FHF is an organization that was created to establish friendships between students with special needs and their non-disabled peers.  Our goal is to help facilitate appropriate social situations for all students while promoting  awareness of various disabilities.

 

French Club

Charlene.Rowe@nisd.net

 

French Honor Society

Charlene.Rowe@nisd.net

 

German Club/German NHS

Marion.Torres@nisd.net

German Club is open to all students at Clark. We meet once a month after school from 4:15 - 5:15.

Dates will be announced through flyers. We celebrate German Heritage, explore German

culture and teach survival German to Non-Native speakers. All Club activities are lead by

German Club officers and the Club sponsor. To join - simply fill out an application available in

A112 from Mrs. Torres.

 

History Fair Club

Carrie.Foster@nisd.net

History Fair Club is a place for all who are interested in creating an entry for the National History Day competition. We will go through the entire process from topic selection to research and final project creation. Students can choose their own topics within the theme for the year and create an amazing documentary films, informative websites, stunning exhibit boards, scholarly papers, or bring history to life in a live performance. Students may work individually or with a small group. Ask your social studies teacher if this is an opportunity for extra credit in the class. We meet Tuesdays after school in A219.

 

Interact (Community Service)

Marjorie.Sensiba@nisd.net

Interact is a community service club.  It is the high school brainchild of Rotary International, one of the largest community service organizations in the world.  Interact’s mission is to create opportunities that facilitate truth, fairness, goodwill, and friendship within the community.  The Tom C. Clark chapter of Interact works closely with Oak Hills Rotary to provide aid to the San Antonio community like the Ronald McDonald House, St. Francis Mobile Loaves and Fishes, food drives for the Food Bank, Habitat for Humanity, The Humane Society and more.  The club usually meets the third Wednesday or Thursday afternoon of every month in room A038.  Refreshments are provided.  Membership is $10.00.  In order to be considered an active member, students will acquire a minimum of 14 hours per semester.  Interact t-shirts need to be worn to any activity outside of Clark and the shirts are $10.00.  The applications for Interact are in A038.  Members are required to get a parent signature for the application/permission/medical release.

 

JROTC (AirForce)

Donald.Shackleford@nisd.net

 

Junior Classical League/Latin Club

William.Lee@nisd.net and David.Mustol@nisd.net

Membership in JCL / Latin Club is open to all students enrolled in Latin or students who are

interested in the study of Greco-Roman civilizations. There’s a membership fee, which covers

the dues for the State and National organizations (for more information please see

www.tsjcl.org for the State organization and www.njcl.org for the National organization).

The Latin Club plans fun, monthly socials (e.g. pool parties, scary movie marathon,

LaserQuest, etc) for its members to build camaraderie. In addition, members have the

opportunity to participate in various academic, creative, graphic, and athletic competitions at

the local, regional, state, and national levels. The most intense and rewarding of these

competitions is Certamen, which is similar to Latin Jeopardy and encompasses mythology,

Roman history, and Latin language skills. Clark’s Latin Club has earned numerous awards at

the local, state, and national levels. At the end of the year, the Latin Club hosts an Awards

Banquet to honor all the achievements and accolades earned by its members.

 

LULAC Youth Council #1098

Lisa.Smalls@nisd.net and Kathy.Guzman@nisd.net

League of United Latin American Citizens is the largest civil rights advocacy group in the U.S. LULAC Youth Council #1089  is a youth organization with an emphasis on education, community service, and developing leadership skills. The organization also provides awareness of scholarship opportunities. Youth Council membership is open to all Clark students. For more information please contact Lisa Smalls in Rm. A110.

 

National Honor Society

Kathryn.Gervais@nisd.net and Melissa.Stewart@nisd.net

The purpose of Clark NHS is to create enthusiasm for scholarship, stimulate a desire to render service, to promote leadership, and to develop character in the students of Tom C. Clark High School. Members must maintain a cumulative average of 90.00 or better, perform monthly community service, perform tutoring in the HUB and attend a monthly meeting. Juniors meeting the academic requirement will be notified before Thanksgiving and may then complete a selection brief to be considered for selection as a prospective member.

 

National Latin Honor Society

William.Lee@nisd.net and David.Mustol@nisd.net

Members of Latin Club who have maintained at least a 90 average for each of the first five

grading cycles during the school year are eligible to be inducted into the NLHS. The induction

ceremony is held in conjunction with the Latin Club Awards Banquet.

 

National Speech and Debate Association

CassandraZuniga@nisd.net

Speech Team

The National Speech and Debate Association is the national honor society for speech and debate. We work to spark transformation in the lives of students, to help them become effective communicators, critical thinkers and engaged ethical members of our democratic society. Students are invited to experience the exciting global debate format! Tom C. Clark High School students participate in Interscholastic Competition and Non-Competitive Speaking / Service Activities. Members of the National Speech and Debate Association pledge to uphold the highest standards of integrity, humility, respect, leadership and service in the pursuit of excellence.

Practices are held across campus at various times throughout the school year.

 

Orchestra

Teresa.Nguyen@nisd.net

Orchestra Booster Website cougarorchestra.org

 

Quiz Bowl

Roxanne.Brown@nisd.net

Quiz bowl is a game in which two teams compete head-to-head to answer questions from all areas of knowledge including history, literature, science, fine arts, current events, sports, and popular culture.

 

Red Cross Organization

Johanne.Ferdinand@nisd.net

The Red Cross Organization of Clark is dedicated to raising funds for any natural or manmade disaster in the United States and the betterment of the community through service and volunteering.

 

 

 

Role Play Club (R.P.C.)

Lauren.Shaw@nisd.net

A game playing community open to all Clark students. Members play RP card, computer, and

video games (such as Munchkin, Pokémon, Mario Kart, etc). Members also create their own

original universes and game systems to engage in original role playing. Members meet every

Thursday in A203 from 4:05-5:30

 

Science Fair Club

Debbi.Sochia@nisd.net

The Science Fair Club is open to all students who have participated or would like to participate in Science Fair.  We will meet on Tuesday mornings in A015 to discuss project ideas and prepare for competition.  Projects need to be ready to compete starting in February.  Students from Clark HS have won at the Regional Level, the State Level (sponsored by Exxon Mobil) and the International Level.  If you are interested, we'd love to have you come by!

 

Science NHS

Shannon.Sahabi@nisd.net and Yvonne.Yzaguirre@nisd.net

To encourage participation and recognition of scientific and intellectual thought, to advance students’ knowledge of classical and modern science, to communicate with the scientific community, and to encourage students to participate in community service and in turn, encourage a dedication to the pursuit of scientific knowledge.  Members for must be juniors or seniors, have a 3.0 overall GPA, hold a 3.5 GPA in all science courses, have one honors science course prior to 11th grade and must be enrolled in a second honors course prior to or during 12th grade.  Students will participate in community service, help with science fairs, and visit with professionals in the scientific community.  Meetings will be held once a month.

 

Science Bowl

Shannon.Sahabi@nisd.net

This is a quiz-bowl (Jeopardy-like) competition in February that asks science questions from

all branches of science and math. The commitment is limited (November through February)

and if we win the regional competition, we can go on to Washington D.C., all expenses paid.

Requirements: enrollment in a Science course and solid knowledge of Math or Science.

 

SkillsUSA and Cougar County Welding Club

Mark.Halloran@nisd.net

Clark High School now has two Metal Trade Clubs; one is Skills USA chapter 1995 and the other is Cougar Country Welding Club under BexarCounty 4-H . In these clubs our student has an opportunity to compete in hands on welding and fabricating contest, and group projects. This is where as a group they plan and design a particular project and construct it . The student is required to document all work each has completed in the construction process and finalize this documentation in a large organized notebook. They will compete in District and State Skills USA contest and will also compete in the San Angelo Ag Mechanics and the San Antonio Ag Mechanics show. 

 

SK8 Club

Marjorie.Sensiba@nisd.net

Meetings on Monday at 4:15 in room A038. While skateboarding is not allowed on campus,

the SK8 Club promotes skateboarding in our school and community and gives students who

skate credibility to those who don't skate. Skateboards can be stored in A038. Club members

meet every Monday after school in A038 and use UUMC's indoor skate park until 6:30. In

order to encourage good grades and attendance, UUMC and Clark administrators allow

students to attend a private skate session each six weeks for a Monday Lunch skate time.

Parent permission is required. T-shirts are $10.

 

Spanish Honor Society

Salvatore.Reginaldo@nisd.net

The Sociedad Honoraria Hispánica (SHH) is an honor society for high school students enrolled

in Spanish and is sponsored by the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and

Portuguese. Formally organized as the Spanish National Honor Society in 1953, the name was

changed in 1959. At present there are over 2,000 national and international chapters.

The purpose of the society is to recognize high achievement of high school students in the

Spanish language and to promote a continuing interest in Hispanic studies.

At Clark, students are engaged in activities that involve the students in leadership activities,

public service to the Clark and surrounding community

 

Student Council

Steve.Carvajal@nisd.net and Christopher.Johnson@nisd.net

 

UIL Academics

Cassandra.Zuniga@nisd.net

The University Interscholastic League exists to provide educational extracurricular academic, athletic, and music contests. Clark HS takes great pride in participating in UIL.  The UIL was created by The University of Texas at Austin in 1910 and has grown into the largest inter-school organization of its kind in the world.  The UIL offers the most comprehensive literary and academic competition in the nation, with 23 high school events. These activities, which exist to complement the academic curriculum, are designed to motivate students as they acquire higher levels of knowledge, to encourage students to confront issues of importance, and to provide students with the opportunity to demonstrate mastery of specific skills. Students are challenged to think critically, exhibiting much more than knowledge and comprehension.  Clark HS participates in Accounting, Calculator Applications, Computer Applications, Computer Science, Current Issues and Events, Literary Criticism, Mathematics, Number Sense, Ready Writing, Science, Social Studies, Spelling and Vocabulary, Theatre and Speech and Debate.  Practices are held across campus at various times throughout the school year.

 

Video Gamerz Club

Phillip.Gutierrez@nisd.net

The video game club is a social after school network of students that play collectable cards,

role playing and/or video games. We meet Fridays from 4:15 till 6 pm in room A008.

 

Yearbook/Newspaper/Clark Connection

Michelle.Elizondo@nisd.net