Texas School Law states that students must be in attendance at least 90% of the time to receive credit for a course.
Students may not miss more than nine (9) days to a first semester course, nine (9) days to a second semester course, or 18 days for a year long course. This includes both Excused and Unexcused absences. The only exceptions to this policy are Health, School Business, College Visit (2 days per year – Juniors and Seniors only) absences.
A student will NOT receive credit for a course if he/she exceeds the number of allowable absences.
Please be advised that if a student is absent without an excuse for 3 or more days or parts of days in a four-week period, or 10 or more days within a six-month period, the student’s parents and/or the student are subject to prosecution under the Texas Education Code after a Truancy Warning Notice is issued.
For further explanation of attendance, refer to your Student/Parent Handbook.
Attendance Recovery is a means for students to recover absences accrued during the school year. Clark offers Attendance Recovery every Wednesday (Wednesday School) after school during the school year. The student can earn Attendance Recovery hour per hour. This is scheduled from 4:15 – 7:15 in the school cafeteria.
The student may also recover time with a Teacher before or after school. The student must owe that class time to make it up with that teacher. The student must:
- Be on time
- Sign in with their Clark I.D. card
- Be in NISD dress code
- Bring work to do for the one to three hour period or session with their teacher
Contact the attendance secretary for deadlines to make up excessive absences through Attendance Recovery for each semester.
CHECKING A STUDENT OUT OF SCHOOL
If a student must be checked out of school for a Medical/Dental Appointment or other planned event, etc., - a parent/guardian can send a note with the student specifying the time you will be picking up the student. The student will turn in this note prior to 8:45 a.m. to the Attendance Office. The student will be given a pass to leave class at the specified time and will be waiting in the Attendance Office for pick up. The parent/guardian must sign out the student in the Attendance Office and show valid photo identification before leaving campus with the student.
Please allow time in your schedule for the Attendance Office to retrieve your student from their class. (Students could be testing, in Athletics, or in a Lab)
If a student becomes ill at school, he/she needs to report to the school nurse. The nurse will determine if he/she needs to be excused due to illness. The parent/guardian will be contacted, asked to come, and sign out the student in the Attendance Office. If the student is sent home by the nurse, this is considered an excused absence for the remainder of the day. Subsequent absences will need a parent note in order to be excused. Should the nurse choose not to send a student home due to illness and the parent chooses to sign out their student, this is an unexcused absence until a parent note is received.
A student is considered Tardy for the first 15 minutes of their 1st period class and must report to the Tardy Booth for a pass to class. A student is considered Tardy for the first 10 minutes of their 2nd – 8th period classes and must report to the Tardy Booth for a pass to class. They will receive a UT (unexcused tardy) on their attendance report.
After a student receives more than 4 tardies in a 6 week grading period, the student will be required to attend the following:
- 5 tardies – 1 hour D-Hall (detention)
- 6 tardies – 3 hours D-hall
- 7 tardies - 1 day of ISS (In-School Suspension)
- 8 or more tardies – at the discretion of their administrator
Students more than 15 minutes late to a 1st period class or more than 10 minutes late to a 2nd-8th period class, must sign in at the Attendance Office and receive a pass to class. Students are considered Absent by Tardy (AT) for the period. An Absent by Tardy counts towards their attendance under the compulsory attendance law.
- personal illness
- family funerals
- medical appointments (doctor's note preferred)
- court appointments with a subpoena
- religious holidays (approved by NISD) with documentation
- family emergencies - Parent/Guardian must contact Jaime Heye (Asst Principal over Attendance) to determine if family emergency will be excused
- car trouble/flat tire
- missing the bus/ride
- initial or renewing a driver’s license
- caring for a family member or taking them to a Dr. appointment
- family or personal business
- busy traffic
- court appointments for traffic violations
- notes without all pertinent information
- a confirmed truancy
- If a student is absent from school, even for just one class/period, he/she must bring a note to the Attendance Office within 3 days of returning to school.
- Notes received after the 3 days will be coded UAP (Unexcused Absence – Parent Contacted).
- The notes can be turned in before 8:45 a.m. or during lunches. Notes can also be faxed to the Attendance Office fax 561-3647.
- An ‘Attendance Cover for Notes’ is included under the Attendance Forms section for your convenience.
HEALTH (H) EXCUSE
A student who has a health care appointment will not be marked as absent and will receive a ‘Health’ or ‘H’ excuse, if all of the following criteria are met:
- The student is present for at least part of the day (comes to school and checks out early or comes to school after a medical appointment and reports to the Attendance Office upon returning).
- Documentation from the health care professional confirming the appointment is turned in within 3 days of returning to school.
- Attendance Office will decide approval for the ‘H’ excuse.
Teachers CANNOT change an absence to an ‘H’ excuse. This can only be done by the attendance secretary.
If a student is gone all day for a medical appointment, he/she will receive an excused absence with a doctor note (EADN), not an ‘H’ , with the proper documentation. These notes must also be brought into the Attendance Office upon the student’s return to school within 3 days; otherwise the absence will remain unexcused(UA).
Health care notes can be faxed from the doctor’s office to the Attendance Office at 561-3647.
Parents should monitor ‘Parent Connection’ to ensure receipt of the health care note from the Doctor’s office.
If a student has an extraordinary circumstance (i.e. a hospital stay due to an emergency illness) and missed 4 or more consecutive days, the student may apply for an Attendance Waiver so that these absences are not counted against the student for credit. In order to apply for an Attendance Waiver, a student must:
- Pick up an Attendance Waiver application from the Attendance Office.
- Complete the form and provide copies of all documentation (copies of excused medical notes) supporting reason(s) for the absences and return them to the attendance Administrator within 5 days of returning to school.
The Attendance committee meets the last week of each 6 week grading period and will determine if the Attendance Waiver can be granted.
PARENT RELINQUISH RIGHTS
(OR OVER 18 FORM)
When a student reaches his or her 18th birthday, he or she may legally assume adult status and become responsible for himself/herself. At Clark High School, we take the position that if the student lives with the parents, then the parents are still responsible for the student. This means that parents will sign absentee notes, progress reports, report cards, discipline notices and will continue to play a role in the student’s education. If a parent wishes to relinquish this responsibility and make the student responsible for himself/herself, the ‘Parent Relinquish Rights Form’ must be kept on file in the Attendance Office.
Unless a student is 18 and has a signed ‘Parent Relinquish Rights Form’ on file, a parent/guardian must sign him/her out of school, otherwise he/she will be considered truant.
Juniors and Seniors are allowed to go on college visits as long as these visits are given prior approval, documented and do not exceed 2 school days per school year, college visits (CV) are considered excused absences. Any days missed for college visits in excess of 2 days per school year will not be excused. For seniors, the 2 days of college visits will not count toward the maximum of 3 absences allowed to be eligible for exam exemptions as long as proper documentation is provided.
The student will need to pick up a college visit form in the Attendance Office, the form needs to be signed by their teachers, counselor and parent at least 3 days prior to the college visitation day. The student is responsible for making up missed work. The completed form is turned into the Attendance Office before the student leaves on the college visitation.
Upon returning to Clark High School, the student needs to submit to the Attendance Office signed evidence of the college visit which includes the students name and date of the visit on college letterhead.
Obtaining missed assignments during an absence:
- For absences less than 3 days, the student can email their teacher at nisd.net/Clark High School or obtain the assignments upon their return to school.
- For absences over 3 days, the parent/guardian can email the teachers or contact 397-5202 to request homework be available for pick-up by 4:30 p.m. in the Attendance Office the next day. Please allow 24 hours notice.
School Messenger is an automated phone call generated when a student is absent from at least one class. It calls the number determined by the parent/guardian to communicate with them if their child misses a class. If a parent/guardian feels the need to have this number changed for more accurate communication (i.e.: cell or work phone), parent should visit ‘Parent Connection’ at www.nisd.net to update their student’s phone numbers, view attendance, grades, set text or email alerts.
YOU MUST HAVE INTERNET ACCESS AND AN EMAIL ACCOUNT.
- Enter www.nisd.net
- Scroll down to the blue/gold box that says ‘Parent Connection’ and ‘click’ on it.
- On the right side ‘click’ on ‘Create Account’.
- The ‘user name’ is the student ID number.
- The ‘password’ is the first 4 letters of the last name and the last 4 numbers of the student’s social security #. Complete filling out the rest of the page.
- Scroll to the bottom of the page and if you agree, ‘click’ on the box that says, ‘I agree to the …’.
- ‘Click’ Sign Up at the bottom of the page.
JR/SR OFF CAMPUS LUNCH
To qualify each semester:
- Student must have no more than 5 excused absences their prior semester.
- Student must have passed all TAKS/EOC .
- Student must have passed all classes prior semester.
- Students must have a Jr/Sr Off Campus Lunch Application signed by parent/guardian on file.
- Students leaving campus for off-campus lunch must be back by the required time.Students who come back to campus late may lose off-campus lunch privileges.
- Students may not visit other campuses.
- Students who have off-campus lunch must present his/her ID to school personnel in order to leave campus.
- Students with off-campus lunch privileges may not transport students who do not have off-campus lunch privileges.Drivers are responsible for knowing the status of any passengers in their car.
- The following records will be reviewed at the end of the fall and spring semester to check for continued eligibility:attendance, grades, TAKS scores and discipline.
This privilege can be withdrawn by an administrator for tardies, truancy or misbehavior, or if student is late to class following lunch or intentionally takes friends off campus.
Verification of Enrollment and Attendance Form
If a student who is under 18 wishes to obtain the TEA Verification of Enrollment and Attendance Form in order to earn a Texas Instructional Driver’s Permit, receive a Texas Driver’s License or renew a Texas Driver’s License, he/she must be in attendance for at least 90% of the days classes are offered.
To receive the completed form, sign up with the Clark High School Receptionist. The attendance secretary will review the student’s attendance to determine if the student qualifies for the VOE Form. If approved, the completed form will be available for pick up the next school day.
WITHDRAWING FROM SCHOOL
Parent/legal guardian wishing to withdraw their student from Clark High School, due to a move or change in schools, must complete the appropriate paperwork at the Student Withdrawal Office. A Withdrawal Documentation Form will need to be completed.
Students need to have all textbooks, library books, all uniforms (ROTC, Band, Choir, Cheerleading, Dance and Sports Team uniforms) and equipment turned in and be clear of all fines and fees.
If you have any questions or want to notify us of a Withdrawal, please call 397-5201.
SENIOR EXEMPTION FROM FINAL’S
Seniors can be exempt from their 2nd semester final exam for a specific course if they meet all of the 4 following conditions:
- The Senior has 3 or fewer days absence during the 2nd semester. Excused, Unexcused, Suspensions and Waived absences are included in the 3 absences. However, School Business (SB), Health (H), College Visit (CV-only 2 days per school year) absences are NOT included. Please note that each type of absence requires proper documentation to be accepted.
- The Senior is passing the entire school year of a full year, one credit course.
- The Senior’s 2nd semester average is 80 or better.
- The Senior’s conduct grade for the 2nd semester must be ‘Satisfactory’ or better.
Seniors who are exempt from final exams are not exempt from being counted absent from school. Seniors who are exempt from taking finals but are not in attendance will be marked absent. These absences will be considered excused absences. These absences will not be held against exempt seniors for purposes of perfect attendance recognition at graduations. These absences will not negate their exemptions from exams (due to more than 3 absences).
A student who is eligible for exemption may take the exam if she/he desires.
Students who have been assigned to the Alternative School during the current semester are ineligible for exemptions.
Please refer to the Student/Parent Handbook page B-16.